Grey clouds passed overhead and a light precipitation filled the air accompanied by a chill March wind. Being the first Sunday of the Month meant that it was the second car boot sale of the year held in the playground over in Chiswick at the School beside the A316. I missed the one last month but the having been woken up early thus morning by one of our mischievous cats I decided to stroll over the bridge and have a look to see what was for sale.

Usually this sales is well attended by both buyers and sellers however you could count the amount of stalls on both hands. The cold, wet, windy weather had severely reduced the numbers, the upside was with a reduced number of buyers there were deals to be had and a greater likely hood to find something interesting and that’s just exactly what happens. On the second stand I looked at were several cane, bamboo and glass sections of rods. I assembled one rod a 10′ #7 fly rod, inscribed The Greys Inn Fly Rod, beneath the inscription a small rectangular transfer but unfortunately missing sections so difficult to identify. When I asked the vendor how much, he replied ‘a tenner’ which was cheap enough however to use it it needed new guides however it did retain it’s agate butt and tip rings. The action was extremely soft and although tempted I decided to give it a miss. I then spotted over in the corner of the back of the playground a bundle of rods in different rod bags, the distinctive blue and olive green of Hardy’s of Alnwick. The whole bundle was wet firm the rain and tied to it was the Lot No. from the Auction House they had been purchased from. I asked if I could undo the bundle to inspect was was on offer and to my amazement the following came to light. A Hardy Houghton, a Hardy Peferction, a Hardy Knockabout all with both tips but in need of restoration, most sctions missing whippings and guides, an Edgar Sealey in good usable condition but a bit on the heavy side. There was one other smaller fly rod which I think was by C Farlows but the small oval stamp on the base of the butt section was difficult to read, unfortunately the eyesight isn’t what it use to be. Tempted I was. However every rod needed restoring and although the purchase price was affordable and I know one would make a tidy profit I just couldn’t be seen going home with another bundle of sticks so again I passed up on these, if any of you reading this would like them I have a contact email address for the vendor.

I had a look at all the other stands and on a second glance at one stall I found a small black travel case of terminal tackle and old Bakerlite reels. A stack of old line winders retaining a few vintage Harcork and cellulose floats helping to date this haul between the late 50’s and 60’s, 3 old pike floats and on another stall a bobbin of fine copper wire which will be ideal for tying flies with or for young Tales to use for detailing his home-made bank stick.


I’m always astonished and amazed at what I can find at this car boot sale, however the Allcocks Wizard I’m hoping to find one day wasn’t to be found today.

