Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Having missed a good three months of the official trout fishing season I do find myself missing the feeling of a  line tighten as a trout takes a fly.

With nearly a full moon in the night sky and the Thames tides showing more of the foreshore than I have seen for some time my thoughts turn to the excitement of a nights sea-trout fishing. For sure they run the Thames and I have seen them caught at Isleworth and Hampton Court on the fly. However, there is nothing quite like a night out on a river in the West Country or West Wales.

Usually I have fished light in the past using a 9ft #6 rod and JLH Hardy reel with floating line, light tackle can give heart stopping excitememt but most I know go for a slightly longer, stiffer rod using a weight 7/8 line on a Hardy Marquis or Princess Reel if being a traditionalist. One good vintage rod is a Bruce & Walker ‘ New Era’ Sea Trout rod that will handle a 8/9 line for double figure fish. Choice of flies are inportand and Dai Jones ties some good patterns, snake flies , tandems, needle flies and surface wake or bubblers flies proving successful.

When the opportunity has arisen I have purchased boxes of old sea-trout flies from the West County or Wales as I know local patterns work well, they have been tried a tested. In a recent article in Trout & Salmon on Sea-Trout fishing it covered the tackle required, techniques and flies to be tried, it’s was certainly worth the read. With the run of Sea-Trout now well underway I hope to get a long weekend in the West give me vintage tackle an airing and the chance for young Tales to once agin put me to shame, for the last couple of seasons he has out-fished me in both terms of number of fish caught and the size. His first ever Sea-Trout caught on the Itchen was a shade under 9lb.

With a couple of warm days and late low tides it may temp me to venture out on the Thames or to book day/night out on a river in the West.

