Tags

, , , , ,


Having basked in temperature in excess of 25c over the last few days, the sky this morning was overcast and rain threatened to dampen the monthly stalling out at Chiswick Car Boot.

I was accompanied this morning by our new neighbours who were intrigued to visit this monthly sale of an eclectic mix vintage collectables and bric-a-brac. Much like Sunbury Antiques Market held at Kempton Race Course you can literally have a wish list and find most of it.

I had a few items on my list, hand Shears to trim my Box plants, items of vintage tackle, and some vintage tools, did I need any of it, not really but if I was to acquire anything then those were the items.

After a quick walk around the stalls there seemed little that would make me part with my money. I found a lovely Scarborough reel, a vintage bait tin which was simply too expensive to give a second glance, a Rimfly Classic fly reel with line, several rods – none of which inspired, an eel and minnow trap and a few multiplier reels together with a box of minnows and Hardy spinning weights. No matter how tempting I passed up on most of it, difficult that it was when you have the vintage tackle bug.

On a second pass of stands beneath the trees I found box containing some Burgon & Ball Classic Garden Shears, these I purchased for £5. Further along I noticed a large black umbrella that sheltered a range of vintage items, what I did notice was the familiar shape of an Efgeeco rod bag under the umbrella. I asked the vendor about the bag, he replied ‘it’s for the umbrella mate’, I knelt down turned over the sipped opening for it to reveal the signature black printed logo of Efgeeco No.244, 5c on the distinctive olive green canvas. I asked as to the price for the bag and at £35 inclusive of the umbrella which it housed a reasonable price, after a bit of haggling which would give me enough to buy a celebratory pint I walked of with the Efgeeco bag over my shoulder. Leaving the field it started to rain, with a cheeky grin across my face as I headed home to watch the British Grand Prix and the thoughts of a bit of fishing later in the day.

IMG_5854.JPG

IMG_5853.JPG

IMG_5855.JPG

IMG_5857.JPG

IMG_5856.JPG

