Tags

, , , , , , , ,


After a couple of days in God’s County of Yorkshire, the town of Harrogate, home of the beloved Betty’s Tea Rooms and The Cheeseboard Cheese Shop I took the train back to the City that Andrews refers to as ‘pandemonium’.

The snakelike train carved its way down the East Coast through wintry showers and rain under an indigo sky until it arrived back at the restored and redeveloped Kings Cross Station.
After a rather tedious onward journey on the Piccadilly Line and a slow bus journey over the Thames I arrived back at a windswept and wet Barnes. Young Tales stood at the top of the stairs with ‘Bish’, a thread worn well-loved Jelly Cat sheep dangling by one limb. Bless him, he had stayed up to welcome me home if not to rub it in that Spurs were already trailing Burnley in the Third Round of The FA Cup by a goal after only 3 minutes, just the news I wanted as I struggled through the door with my bags.
Bags down, coat off then greetings were made as if I’d been away for a month.

I was then presented by young Tales with a white card box that was left by the door during the day. After peeling back the Sellotape I folded back the flaps revealing its contents, this being a vintage Hardy reel pouch in its distinctive blue and cream livery. Some earlier ones were red and cream but this one will house a Hardy Lightweight  reel that currently sits on the bookcase. The Reel pouch was probably made in the 70’s and now trade hands for £15-24. In good condition these are hard to come by but can still be picked up here and there. The Hardy Selvyt pouches if found will set you back between £20-35 for a small one and in excess of £60 to fit a salmon reel, again dependent on condition to their value, so I feel the hard cases or pouch better value protection for your reels.

We still await the delivery of the Heddon 300 in order for me to compare to a vintage Hardy Featherweight so hopefully a write-up by the weekend.

IMG_4902.JPG

IMG_4905.JPG

IMG_4889.JPG

