Tags

, , , , , , , ,


With only one previous post on my blog in June and that being the first day of the month I ask myself, where has the time gone? The coarse fishing season is now under way and those longer evenings when one can fish till dusk are here, however I seem to have filled every hour with work related activity.

The weather this week has been warm and bright so fishing in the day I know would be hard so possibly I haven’t missed out too much other than the time to be free and watch the natural world and bask in the sun. I do feel though I have missed out on some classic early evening and last light dry fly action. To balance out the lost time I’m planning on a couple of hours fishing later today and try out Walthamstow Reservoir No. 5.

Having recently been into Farlows of Pall Mall, the team of highly knowledgable staff had recommended I try this reservoir out for a spot of buzzer and dry fly fishing, not usually my sort of place to fish but happy to give it a go.

I’ll probably use my Hardy Ultralite Rod, pair it up with my Hardy JLH Ultralite #6 reel with a DT6 floating line knowing that this rod will punch out enough line a good distance if I need too. I’ll also put together a box of buzzers, emergers, some hoppers and elk hair sedges a great assortment that should tempt a fish or two.

This North London reservoir complex caters for both coarse and fly fishers and offers a range of tickets to suit most needs. An evening two fish ticket will cost £17, so I find it reasonably priced.

One last thought was to pop a couple of dog biscuit flies in the fly box and have a walk on the ‘wild side’ of the River Lea and see if there were any carp to be had, worth a thought.

So with little time these days let’s see if this water is as productive as the team at Farlows report.

