Graphics from a travellers quest

Graphics from a travellers quest

A vintage travel case bearing graphics from a bygone age.

A vintage travel case bearing graphics from a byegone age.

A discarded vintage leather case bearing some vinatge travel labels

A discarded vintage leather case bearing some vinatge travel labels

As I prepare for my travels to Poland for work this week I had to go to the cleaners to pick up my shirts. Battling my way through the elements I notice a discarded leather sofa on a street corner, there earlier in the day was a mountain of discarded Christmas trees. The sofa was a brown button back Chesterfield, modern and not an original and missing the base cushions, there between the rain-sodden rolled arms was a battered vintage leather case, on close inspection it was covered in gummed labels bearing the resorts and destinations it had been transported to. Sadly having been left out in the rain it was in a bad state and the labels were beginning to perish.

How could anyone throw out this companion to the traveler, the countless miles to had travelled and the hands it had passed through. As I stood there in the rain I decided to save this cast off. As I picked it up it literally fell apart in my hand, understandably this is why it was cast aside. However my appreciation of the graphics of the old travel labels made me continue to rescue it even if to just document the images. With my passion for all things vintage I then had an idea, how do I preserve it? late last night I placed the case in an environment that wouldn’t dry it too fast but enough that by morning the labels may dry out enough to photograph. There were labels from Milano,Austria,Switzerland,Yugoslavia and Munich, I just wonder what stories this case could tell of its ‘Grand Tour’.

I was pleased with my first ‘lost, discarded and found ‘ item of 2014. All I need to do now is up-cycle this mass of leather and vintage graphics into something to give it a new life, so there you have it, a project for this new year. I’ll keep in informed.

