Tags

, , , , , ,


On the fifth day of the new year it rained as it did on the sixth. The weather forecast was again for heavy rain and the Environment Agency had its flood warnings in force. We watched on television the storms batter the Cornish Coast. Lives have been lost, homes flooded and it is set to continue.

The River Thames sees some high tides, locally covering the tow path and flooding low-lying areas. In the summer we would be fishing for roach it had deterred me from walking the river bank. However I can report that a ceramic egg by the artist Anon has been found at Rainham Riverside.

Early this morning I checked the inbox of my computer, amongst the usual deluge of emails was an email from a gentleman who had found an egg. Clearly he had researched his find and followed a thread to my blog. What does amaze me is that these ceramic eggs placed in the Thames some 21 months ago are still within the tidal Thames Estuary and being found, I find this staggering but the Thames has a habit of capturing history and you never quite know when it will reveal its secrets.

I can imagine more will be found….

