Tags

, , , , , ,


Today was Market Day, every Saturday I help out my good friend Will Smith with his Barn Bacon stall at our local farmers market in Barnes SW13.

With darker mornings we stalled out before 8am selling a range of fresh cuts, Pork Pies, Scotch Eggs, honey glazed hams, breaded hams and our finest range of pork sausages and cured bacon. It was to turn out to be a busy day.

Halfway through the day a local antiques dealer from Wandsworth dropped by the stall to see if we were interested in buying a metal cockerel for the farm shop. In conversation it came about that her other half was a writer for several top fly fishing titles and a fishing guide, so you can guess where the conversation went. After a catch up on trading antiques and that she had a copy of a sought after cocktail book the conversation reverted back to fishing.

She asked as to what sort of fishing I did and made a point that her the half was a purist, purist in what I thought? Fly fishing was the answer, to that statement I fully understand as that is where I started.

Well, after a couple of pints of Ringwood Bitter in our local this evening I’m going to sift through a batch of old Trout & Salmon magazines to read articles by her husband.

After another day with no fishing on the cards I intend to trot a float in search of Grayling on the Itchen near Winchester tomorrow, but only after having dropped into the big car boot sales near Guildford on off the A3 in search of vintage clothing, tackle and fishing books.

