Tags

, , , , , , ,


 As chance would have it a journey south took me to Southampton to The Rockstone and then back up to Stockbridge. After a light lunch at the Greyhound in the High Street there was time to sneak across the road for a visit to Orvis before a short drive to the Peat Spade at Longstock, I know it sounds like a bit of a pub crawl but it really was all work related. I was out presenting and selling my Gin.

Packet of dog biscuits from Orvis in Stockbridge

Packet of dog biscuits from Orvis in Stockbridge

Whilst in Orvis I just had to purchase a few Elks Hair Sedge flies some bass flies for a forthcoming trip to Norfolk and a couple of ‘dog biscuit’ flies for carp fishing. When I was asked by the shop assistant if they could help me I enquired about flies for carp fishing, the answer from the assistant was, you need dog biscuits. Dog biscuits I replied, yes Sir, dog biscuits – he headed off in the direction of the shop window to return with 3 deer hair tied balls with three tufts of wool resembling dog biscuits, they’ll do the trick.

Dog biscuits and sedges from Orvis in Stockbridge

Dog biscuits and sedges from Orvis in Stockbridge

I mentioned about my recent visit to Morden Hall armed with a 7ft #4 fly rod where a wild carp took an interest in an emerging fly, he was slightly alarmed at the thought of me hooking into an 8lb carp on such light tackle, fun was the thought in my mind.

the fishing hut on beat 10After the brief visit to Orvis we headed up to Longstock a quaint village where the Test runs through the lower pastures. There is one place where a wooden bridge crosses the river with a thatched fishing hut to one side with eel traps set above the bridge, for me this was just heaven to have the chance to watch trout rising to flies in the afternoon sun. All that was missing was that gin and tonic.

 

Eel traps over the River Test

Eel traps over the River Test

If you are in search of some great food and drinks with good service then I can recommend all three of the above Pubs, see below for links.

http://www.therockstone.co.uk
http://www.thegreyhoundonthetest.co.uk
http://www.peatspadeinn.co.uk

