Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Hardy JJH Triumph #6 split cane rod

Hardy JJH Triumph #6 split cane rod

My posts are less frequent these days simply because work and the weather are keeping me off the river. This new season has been dogged by overcast skies, wind and rain. The water as been coloured and recently a seal has played in the river at high tide ,chasing fish from the railway bridge at Barnes to the reach near the Fullers Brewery. Clearly this recent visitor has moved the fish on as a couple recent visits with a rod resulted in a blank on both occasions.

I was going to head out fishing today but with such windy conditions I decided to stay at home and watch the Le Mans 24hr Race which was packed with incidents, raced mostly behind the Safety Car and sadly with the loss of the Danish driver of the Aston Martin Team. The rain played havoc with this race this year.

With Wimbledon just about start the weather looks more promising so I may venture out for a very early session in pursuit of a barbel on a stretch of the Thames near Sunbury.

My other quarry is trout, so a trip to Hampshire is on the cards to try out a couple of cane rods I have acquired. One is a mint condition Sharpe’s featherweight #5 and the other a Hardy JJH Triumph #6. There is something very special about fishing with split cane.

Having recently been contacted by Chris Clemes who builds a range of rods and also produces reels I can’t quite see the point of spending upwards of £1700 on a new rod when there are many fine vintage examples with years left in them on the market. A new Hardy cane rod will set you back a good £2500-3500. With respect to Chris Clemes the quality is outstanding and I would say you are only acting as a minder when owning one of these rods they are built like a fine watch or gun, their destiny is only to be passed on to generations of fishermen. See https://chrisclemes.co.uk/

I hope to get to the river later in the week so will add pictures of these fine rods to my blog then.

