Tags

, , , , ,


Farlow's Serpent 31/2 reel

Farlow’s Serpent 31/2 reel

I missed the stalling out of John Andrew’s at Farlow’s earlier in the week, an event that I wanted to be at and much in the same way that I wanted to visit the Fulmer Library in Bucks to listen to the spoken words of Charles Rangeley-Wilson of the Silt Road, Unfortunately my time this week was taken up preparing to embark on a new project that would take me away across Flanders fields to the lowlands of Holland.

However, delivered in a small cardboard box a pair of Farlow’s Serpent 3 1/2 inch fly reels. Made to a similar standard and in the same colours. The fishing reel’s finish is stove-enamelled, with a gun-metal cage and matt silver spool.  The Hardy Lightweight series have been produced since the mid 30’s and are a reliable and robust reel, light enough to marry with any modern composite carbon rod. The only real difference is the missing feature of the adjustable check however it does have chrome plated line guard rather than the nickle silver found on the Hardy Lightweight reel series.

I ‘ll use these Farlow’s Serpents for sea-trout fishing on the Welsh rivers later in the year.

