Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Wood Pigeon recipe ingredients

Wood Pigeon recipe ingredients from talesbytheriverbank

Wood pigeon with black pudding, pickled walnuts & stem ginger…
As the South West Train made its way along the tracks towards Richmond I noticed the trackside trees were full of wood pigeons. Their grey bodies perched like Christmas decoration on branches of ash, birch and rowan.

Like some visual reminder I remembered I had in my fridge two wood-pigeon given to me by my friends at Winterbourne Game of Dorset who stall out at Barnes Farmers Market on a Saturday. They have a host of game on their stall. Knowing that I’m a keen cook they gave me a couple of birds and said ‘make what you will of those’.

Having given it thought I decided to cook them with pickled walnuts,black pudding, stem ginger, wild rice and serve them on a bed of cavolo nero.

Firstly clean the pigeon, then lift the breast skin and fill with unsalted butter. Cook the Bury black pudding and add a small amount of chopped stem ginger, russet apples from Ringden Farm of Kent and chopped Opies pickled walnut and mix with the boiled wild rice then stuff this into the cavity of the bird.

Roasted Pigeon

Roasted Pigeon

Place in a pre heated oven at 220c for 20 mins, drop the heat down to 160c for a further 10 mins.

De-stem the cavolo nero, this I purchased from Wild Country Organics at Barnes Farmers Market and steam for a few minutes until tender, you can then serve the cooked pigeon on this or serve with creamed potato or on its own.

Find some other recipes at http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/wood_pigeon and for pigeon http://www.blackface.co.uk/game_and_venison.asp

If you don’t have a local farmers market most of these ingredients can be purchased at Waitrose.

Serve with a glass of Pinot Noir or a chilled glass of Kings Ginger Liqueur.

Happy Valentines…

