Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Being the last Tuesday of the month it is another sell out for the Sunbury Antiques market held at Kempton race course.

With the Met Office forecasting 70% probability of rain it will be a wet affair. Barbours and hats will be required with sturdy footwear. We will bundle into David’s Fiat 500 and head down the A316. Not that we are in search of anything in particular but we just love the atmosphere, it’s a riot of colour and sound.

If I can find one I’m on the look out for an Avocet Float Rod, by either B James, Allcock or Chapman.  I did see an Allcock Isis and a fine Sealey Octofloat on my last visit. I’m also on the look out for vintage coupe glasses for serving gin cocktails in and a couple of large glass storage jars, so the little Fiat 500 should be able accommodate if found.

There are a couple of suitable rods for sale on eBay but at least at Kempton you get a chance to look and feel before you buy and usually a couple of good rods turn up there.

Well, it’s off to bed for me now if I’m to get up early to get to the market before taking on another day of looking for new projects and contracts.

