Tags

, , , , , , ,


The essentials

The essentials

Winterbourne Game, pigeon with black pudding served with beetroot, apple, pea shoots and citrus salad.

Winterbourne Game, pigeon with black pudding served with beetroot, apple, pea shoots and citrus salad.

As carol singers walk the streets in full voice I decided to cook some pigeon breasts given to me by Winterbourne Game of Dorset. There are many recipes but one I like is pigeon served with Bury Black Pudding with beetroot, apple, citrus and pea shoot salad. An ideal wine for this meal occasion is a Malbec from France called Durou, its earthy notes work well with the black pudding and beetroot.

I finally serve with a jus of wine seasoned with pepper, salt, a sprig of thyme and a spoonful of Edmond Fallot Dijon mustard on a bed of mashed Maris Piper potato.

This dish reminds me of my childhood when I would be the bag carrier for the local farm hands that would take me out shooting along the Chess Valley, where pigeons and pheasant would be shot and stuffed into a large Brady game bag. The pigeons were usually stripped of their breasts out in the field and their carcasses left out for carrion and foxes.

