Tags

, , ,


Fishing Fantasy

Fishing Fantasy

On this November Monday, ‘Tales’ is another year older. Unfortunately I can’t head to the river to fish today even though I live only a stones throw from the banks of the Thames. However I will immerse myself in a ‘Fishing Fantasy’, a book by J. Hughes-Parry.

I have recently read on fellow bloggers sites about what they call good writing, Radio 4 covered this with ‘Words On Water’ last Thursday.

Fishing and Flying, "written with charm and fluency and salted with knowledge gained at first hand...facinating".

Fishing and Flying, “written with charm and fluency and salted with knowledge gained at first hand…facinating”.

‘TheTuesdaySwim’ – referred to a book called ‘Fishing and Flying’ by Terence Horsley which was noted on the reverse of Fishing Fantasy along with Water Symphony by H. E. Towner Coston, all published by Eyre & Spottiswoode. There is something about these old titles and the way the words are crafted that makes them enjoyable to read and for me the illustrations are a joy to look at.

A ceramic fish box from 'Little Tales'.

A ceramic fish box from ‘Little Tales’.

My morning started with my son wishing me a Happy Birthday and giving me a ceramic fish box that he had glazed, one now wonders what to store in it…

