Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


I don’t know where the time has gone over the last few days. The weekend for me was just a blur, no sooner had Friday evening come around then I was waking up and it was Monday. The rods lay idle in the corner of the room, the Efgeeco seat box was still in the hallway from the last fishing trip and the bait box still by the front door.

Nut Lane Bees

Nut Lane Bees

On Friday evening we took a journey west to see old friends and spent the evening talking about wine, vodka, cars, children, fishing and the ups and downs of life.

Sarah and Simon live in a wonderful house with their three dogs, one, a two-year old Doberman which made short shrift of a wood pigeon the following morning when we went out to inspect the bees.

A Walk On The Wild Side
A Walk On The Wild Side

I had not witnessed such pace on a dog since I lived next to the farm in Quill Hall Lane where Jilly the lurcher would hunt down rabbits with such pace they wouldn’t stand a chance, once she had a fix on them, her sheer pace would take your breath away and the swift dispatch at the end of the chase was unforgettable.

Sarah is a keen fisher, I was saddened to hear that the collection of rods and reels left to her by her late father were stolen, it’s a shame Dexter wasn’t around to take care of the thieves. To the thieves the rods and reels were simply a way of making money, to Sarah they were memories of holidays fishing with her father and her first salmon.

I have been recently looking for a bag to sling over my shoulder that I can carry enough tackle in yet travel light. Most of my bags are for trout fishing, I have one small Hardy Brook bag, small it is and is really only suited to carrying a priest, tippets and a couple of small Wheatley fly boxes. I have an old Liddesdale trout bag, a Chapman bag  http://www.chapmanbags.com/story-john-chapman.html which is similar to my Liddesdale and then my big Efgeeco seat box.

Geoffery Pollard featured with a Brady of Halesowen game bag whilst hunting red-legged grouse in Scotland in the mid 70's.

Geoffrey Pollard seen here featured with a Brady of Halesowen game bag whilst hunting red-legged grouse in Scotland during the mid 70’s with one of his peregrines. He was well respected and a key falconer, much like Ronald Stevens who I believe he learnt much from.

What I have been looking at is a Brady Game Bag, I remember an old school friend had one of these as he would go hunting with his father’s falcons and a Brady bag was the choice of the hunting set. James’s father Geoffrey Pollard was a renowned falconer who kept the sport alive in the UK. I remember seeing one of these bags stuffed with blooded red-legged partridge in the boot of this mothers Saab. Brady bags had the distinctive brown canvas with mesh fronts to them. http://www.bradybags.co.uk/the-history.asp

Having recently seen a few bags at car boots and vintage fairs they all seem to command a high price. Most vintage Brady of Halesowen bags fetch £75 and upwards. In fact the most common use for these bags are as messenger bags adorning the backs of the fashion elite on their Mercia fixie bikes in Hoxton and Shoreditch.

I have found one in well used condition in Sutherland, a bag with a few stories to tell I’m sure.  I hope that this will be easier to carry than my Efgeeco seat box but one thing has just dawned on me is that a Brady bag doesn’t double up as a seat….

Our good friend at Arcadia had a recent collection of fine bags for purchase so if you are in the market take a look at http://www.andrewsofarcadia.com . Another item of note recently publicised by Mr Andrews is the launch of a book called ‘Hooked On Floats’ available from the 18th November and written by Mr Jeff Dela Mura.

On the subject of tackle bags I have found a couple of old surgeons tool kits where the canvas roll makes an ideal float carrier, small enough to store twelve floats in, all you need when travelling light when walking on the wild side.

