Tags

, , , , , , ,


Another weekend is only hours away and I hope to hit the road South in order to cast a line out towards the setting sun. It is also the weekend of the Romsey Vintage Tackle Fair.

Having not caught either a bass or barbel on my recent fishing trips I hope to not blank out again. Fishing for me is never about just catching fish or how big they are. Some of the smaller fish caught have given magical moments to reflect on. Those days where my fishing has resulted in a blank have been just as rewarding in other ways. In the closing half hour of my recent barbel fishing trip I watched a barn owl hover over the meadow in the autumn light and then pounce on an unsuspecting field mouse, it’s actions where swift and decisive but fantastic to watch.

I’ve got some bait left over that I purchased from The Tackle Box for last weekends RNLI bass match so hopefully this will do for a return trip to the Sussex Coast. I will also take some new lures sent to me by Paul Adams to try out, one lure in particular in colours of a joey mackerel gives me confidence that it will temp a fish if one is close enough.

Will that line tighten…..

