Tags

, , , , , ,


On my way to work this morning I passed by Peas In A Pod our local greengrocer and exchanged greeting with Malcolm, we usually talk about whisky as it’s his favourite tipple and he knows I work on marketing premium spirit brands. He asked as to how the summer had been and I joked with him about ripening the fruit in the September sun. I told him of my day off barbel fishing yesterday, he then offered up the information that he and his brother had been fishing on the Grand Union Canal near Greenford. The location was only described as behind the Bakeries that back on to the Canal.

With post war growth in industry the factories and industrial sites expanded along the canal. Evidently the barges would come up the canal and moor in their individual bays but this was the location of sightings of carp into double figures. He said that the carp remain in the location as workers would chuck slices of bread to them. The location could be where the J.Lyons & Company had their factory built in 1919 and opened in 1921. I believe Allied Breweries and Manor Bakeries Ltd. were also later to be on this site now known as the Lyons Way Industrial Estate.

To confirm the double figures of these monsters from the deep he told me how on a recent trip to catch one an unsuspecting fisherman hooked one only to lose all terminal tackle as the fish took off at speed.

I have also read that there are good perch and tench from the stretch of canal between Alperton and Greenford.

A trip to Greenford to see such fish is now on the agenda.

Further reading of canal carp can be read at http://www.thetuesdayswim.wordpress.com

