Tags

, , ,


On my journey in life for all things fishing I have met some wonderful and talented people, one in particular is a Mr Nick Clark who shares my passion for angling and design.

W R Products Speedia Wide Drum Reel

W R Products Speedia Wide Drum Reel

A chance meeting in W12 once the home of WR Products (Engineers) Ltd. producers of Speedia Fishing Tackle, centred around a conversation about their fine Speedia reels then moved on to what we both did for a living and we found we had a common interest in graphic design.

I had arranged to pick up an early manufactured  ‘naked Speedia Wide Drum Reel’. This one had been stripped of its black paint and polished.

A 'naked' early Speedia Reel.

A ‘naked’ early Speedia Reel.

Nick had a fine collection of Speedia reels and had decided to pass on two wide drum reels as he had upgraded his collection with the acquisition of two Speedia Deluxe reels, which by all accounts are highly sought after.

During our conversation we agreed to go fishing on the River Kennet for barbel early next week so I hope to use the ‘naked Speedia’ with either my R Chapman 550 or the 9ft stalking rod I picked up yesterday.

