Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


Bomber Command Memorial Sculpture by Phillip Jackson
Bomber Command memorial sculpture by Phillip Jackson – Photographs copyright Gary Hazell

Yesterday saw the unveiling of the Bomber Command memorial designed by Liam O’Connor in London’s Green Park, with over 6,000 veterans, their families and relatives of those who died it was a moving occasion. After the unveiling of the bronze sculpture created by Phillip Jackson of seven crew members by Her Majesty The Queen and Prince Philip a Lancaster flew overhead and released thousands of poppies from its pay load doors which in turn covered the rich green grass of Green Park where children rushed to pick them up.

Waiting to count them in…

This memorial is a most fitting tribute to all of the 55,573 service men and women that sacrificed their lives from 1939-1945,however this memorial was long over due.

I wondered if my stepfather took the time to go yesterday as his father, Sergeant Leslie Charles Hazell, was as I detailed in yesterday’s post, a Pilot of a Lancaster of 9 Squadron out of Waddington, I hope he did go.

Bomber Command memorial

Bomber Command memorial

My young son stood in the playground of his school and watched the planes that took part head North West in the skies after having dropped a tribute of thousands of red poppies. I will take him up to see the memorial this weekend as I know the sculptor Phillip Jackson and I want my son to see the magnificent sculpture that forms the focal point of this memorial. What is also fitting is that the roof is made of aluminium from a downed WWII Halifax.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/history/raf-bomber-command/9364148/RAF-Bomber-Command-memorial-poppy-drop-seen-from-the-air.html#

On the subject of fishing, my son found a large carp on the foreshore of the Thames near Small Profit Dock in Barnes. Interestingly enough I had been notified earlier in the day bu Jeff who had seen this large fish on the grey stone shore. Having not seen it myself I can’t comment as to what size it may be but from the photograph my son showed me must be a good 9-12lb plus.

