Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


Finally it has stopped raining and that means there is no excuse for not packing a small bag of tackle, my B James Kennet Perfection rod and my trusted Youngs Rapidex in order to head off to the river in search of roach, chub, dace, roach and perch.

The small back waters of the Thames are ideal locations for silver fish.

Carp on the move

What I did see on my way home was a large carp in a location in West London that we keep quite about in order that they are not disturbed or fished for and taken from the water. Its large mass was seen just beneath the water where the afternoon sky was reflecting on the surface film of the water. It swam gracefully across the from the reed beds and out towards to island only changing course to avoid the webbed feet of a mallard making haste to a scrap of bread.

Recent catches were taken on the drop and within the margins. As soon as the bait had hit the water and started to sink, fish would come up take the bait and head off. I’m surprised at the eagerness of the fish to feed as I would have thought with all the rain we have had that enough food and insects had been washed into the river that they should be pretty full….clearly not.

After the other evenings fishing trip the conversation continued about line guards on reel and the pros and cons. My Trudex had a line guard but my Speedia doesn’t, neither reel has proved to be troublesome to use but we did note that Eddie struggled with his new Okuma Sheffield, which doesn’t have a line guard and seems to be favoured by anglers over the Okuma Kennet which does. Have any of you fishermen out there got a view on this and the performance of the Sheffield over the Kennet as I was debating on getting an Okuma but have decided not to jump into acquiring one just yet?

I think I will just stay with my vintage collection of center pins, as they say ‘better the devil you know’.

