Tags

, , , , , , , ,


With the sun streaming through the bedroom window the 16th of June looked like a promising day. At 8am I set off to help out at the farmers market and cook bacon butties for the Barn Bacon Company from Nottingham.

After a reasonably busy morning the afternoon had been earmarked for a trip to the river to fish on the first day of the coarse fishing season. After the last weeks rain the River Thames was simply running too fast to contemplate fishing for silver fish so the decision was made to head to Sivyers Lake, the lake is named after Albert Sivyer, the Feltham Piscatorial Society’s Chairman for thirty eight years. See http://www.felthampiscatorials.co.uk

Feltham Piscatorial Society

A trip via Twickenham to get some fresh bait was in order and I was grateful for the help from a fellow fisher who advised me on what bait to purchase as carp fishing is relatively new to me. Pellets and sizes confuse me but the advice I was given was sound and respected. Also later in the day it was to be proved to be the best advice I could have been given, so I am most grateful.

As late afternoon approached we arrived at the water of the Feltham & Twickenham Piscatorial Society near Sunbury. Upon arrival I asked some seasoned anglers as to how the lake was fishing and having taken note of the strong wind decided to fish the smaller lake where the wind seemed to be less prevailing, especially as I had my young son with me and his friend.

With a barbless hook and a couple of red maggots suspended from a self cocking waggler float an instant take from a roach started the afternoons fishing, followed shortly afterwards by a repeat performance.

Peg No 8

Having observed the surface of the water one could see the movement of fish so I cast slightly further and with success we hooked into a carp that took us on an interesting journey, this time my Shimano baitrunner took the strain and after a few minutes we landed a fabulous carp, the grin on my son’s face said it all.

A fine carp

We cast again to see if we could catch another but after some gentle knocks we decided to head home and call it a day. My son requested that we stop off at the Sun Inn in Barnes in order that he could have a bowl of chips, a lemonade and watch the football and take in all the atmosphere.

After the football we headed home and read ‘Tales From The Tacklebox’ from cover to cover by Jason Whiteley, my son loved it and so should you.

