Tags

, , , , , ,


The barometer in the kitchen indicates more rain, thunder and lightning so with the early morning sun shining don’t be fooled into leaving the umbrella behind.

At 6.31am I took to the river for my morning walk and again found more ceramic eggs left stranded on the shore. These eggs in all different colours of glaze glisten in the morning sun. I watch a gull look inquisitively at one not knowing if to peck at it. Most of these eggs are found between Small Profit Dock and Barnes Bridge.

Another lost egg found on the banks of the Thames

This part of the river is known for things being washed up and in fact Mortlake got its name from the amount of bodies that would be washed up on the shore well over a century ago. Also you can find fragments of Mortlake pottery,bone both human and animal, animal teeth, antique glass and all manner of things if you look hard enough. In fact this part of the Thames is good for finding medieval coins, buckles and bells.

Having found many of these eggs it is evident from the numbers stamped on the bottom of each that possibly over 4,000 of these have been put into the Thames. What baffles me is that for what must have been a large event there are no details to be found on the net either on Google or Facebook. One would have though there was a way of finding out how far your egg had travelled. The big question to ask is there a prize?

In an earlier post I refer to the use of tins as tackle boxes. What I have found recently is my very first tin I had that housed the few items of tackle I owned when I was 9. These items were, a red and white pike float, two Harcork Avon floats, two quill floats, a small amount of shot, an early Abu spinner and my Intrepid spinning reel to pair up with my Milbro rod, all gifts from my grandfather William Jennings. The tin when found had items from the days when my stepfather spent weekends building a model railway, track pins, points, point levers, some HO figures and an old NCR ribbon tin circa 1968.

